## 2013-2014 Annual-End-of -Year Committee Report

Committee Name: Surgical Technology Advisory Committee

Chairperson: Deirdre Robertson

**List of members:** Dr. David Huang, Deirdre Robertson, Rhonda Pate, Terry Porter, Julie Koetter, Tami Ferguson, Nick Thornton, Anne Dabovich, Kelby Cobb, Becky Awtrey, Delayne Crow, Diane Bass Johnson

Dates of meetings: November 7, 2013--4:00 PM

## Accomplishments:

- Deirdre Robertson was elected Chairperson with Julie Koetter being elected Recorder; Fall 14 Dr. Myers
- Created plan to gradually implement AAS degree and phase out COC by 2021; Dr. Harkey will report progress in Fall 14 meeting
- Program Statistics: Fall 13- 12-13 85 % retention rate, 12 students- 8 female & 4 males; Spring 14-The 2012 Traditional class pass rate as of July 31, 2013 was a 20% increase above standards; 9 students will graduate in August 14
- Surveys collected; Graduate surveys- 8 out of 15 returned (53% with a 100% satisfaction rate); Employer surveys- 100 % with 100 % satisfaction rate
- Students employed: Fall: 8 of 11 graduates,91%; others- 2 are continuing education, 1 employed outside of field; Spring: 4 students employed
- Program recognized as a Certificate of Merit Program
- For the first time, the 2013 class had 100% pass rate
- Agreed to make changes in the 2014-2015 catalog to reflect the New TSI Assessment test requirement
- Permission granted to trade out duplicate equipment
- The lab is used as a recruitment tool for both male and female students
- Promoted program; visited regional hospitals, Search My Future, GenTX, Sophomore Roundup, WFISD Career Night, tours
- Raised funds so that students could attend the AST National Conference in Denver
- Procured Kell West Regional Hospital as clinical site: Enabled return to 15 clinical students per year

Recommendations: None

Agendas, exhibits and minutes posted to Vernon College web site address: http://www.vernoncollege.edu/CollegeEffectiveness/Committees.aspx

Submitted by: Donna Egoavil

Date submitted: 7/2/14